I’m Sprinting Again!: Using injury recovery to help a friend deal with heartbreak

I’M SPRINTING AGAIN

A year and a half ago, I tore my left Achilles tendon playing basketball.  Out of nowhere it felt like a lightning bolt struck my ankle.

A few weeks ago, your heart was completely broken.  Out of nowhere you found out she was gone.

It was a complete tear.  I literally could not move my foot up and down.  It was completely disconnected.

You couldn’t feel anything, but the pain…

I called on my friends.  They were there for me.

Call on your friends.  We are here for you.

They took me to a hospital.  The doctor diagnosed the injury and told me what needed to be done.

There’s nothing like wise counsel to heal a broken heart.

When I left the hospital, my friend stopped at a café to get us some coffee.  I remember watching him walk, and for all I knew at that moment I may never have walked again.  I mean, what if I didn’t heal right?

You wonder if your heart will be the same again, if you will ever love again, if you even want to love or be loved…

I had a huge cast up to the top of my thigh.  I could barely do basic things.  I could barely move even with crutches.

Sometimes it’s all you can do to make it through your day.  Some days you doubt you should even try.  The only thing that scares you is knowing how hard you’ll have to try again tomorrow…

cast

But I made it.  I changed casts until the cast came off.  I went from crutches to a cane, from a cane to a limp.  My leg was so shriveled at first, after 10 weeks of not being used, I didn’t even know what it would be good for.

You have a long road ahead of you, a process, a journey.  Step by step, and day by day, you’re getting closer- even though you can’t feel it- to being whole again…

I started walking.  I went to physiotherapy.  I started swimming, then jogging.  I started jumping, and doing calf raises.  It hurt all along the way. I have a lot of scar tissue.  It makes my ankle stiff and swollen.

Your heart’s gonna hurt for a long time.  Maybe it will hurt forever.  But it will also heal.  Something from your pain will always remain, but it will heal.

Last week, I sprinted for the first time.  Not full speed, but a sprint.  I’m back!

You’ll be better than ever before.  Just believe, seek counsel, and try.

2 thoughts on “I’m Sprinting Again!: Using injury recovery to help a friend deal with heartbreak

Leave a Reply

